31 for 21: Day 31

This should be the post where I make some great connection and pull it all together nicely. Or maybe where I say something that my kid was angel sent to me? Or where I explain how extraordinary he is?

But I will not. Not because he is not, because both my kids are awesomly awesome and extra cool. That has nothing to do with the number of chromosomes, they are cool and perfect to me because they are mine.
Sure the DS stresses me out on certain levels. Current stress factor number one is school. But then I realized that seems to be the case of most parents who will be sending their kids to school next fall, at least in our KiGa where the hype is what school is best and why.
So I am not alone in stressing about school because my kid has DS, I am stressing because I am a mom. And I must say it has been nice to get the DS wake up call that maybe performance and elite schools is not the only thing that matters in life. I am thankful for an education where all individuals are valued. Where inclusion is understood and practiced and where effort is being made to educate of emotional intelligence too.

I am also not going to tell you how fab having a kid with DS is, because it is not more or less fab than having a kid without DS. Honestly. They do all the same things; good and bad. Edgar might be slightly worse at the moment. (Hand washing in the toilet, dropping things in the toilet etc you get the idea).

But I will leave you with this that I again found on Michelle’s blog:  
Many news stories from the last few weeks where DS has been in focus: Parents, Siblings, and People With Down Syndrome Report Positive Experiences. More on this study: Down Syndrome’s Rewards Touted as new Test Looms, Inspiring Portrait of Down Syndrome at Odds With Perfect Baby Pursuit, and Down Syndrome Awareness Makes A Difference.

Most important to me is this part, which were answered by adults with Down syndrome:

 “99 percent responded they were happy with their lives, 97 percent liked who they are, and 96 percent liked how they looked.”

Would you say the percentage is as high for people without DS?
Just sayin’, so do not give me any ideas about people with DS not being able to live life to the fullest, or that they are not happy, and also please do not associate this with people with DS are always so happy and they are so full of love, I promise to put a post about the opposite some time featuring my son. Instead please see this as it is, people with DS are actually happy with where they are, what they do and how they live. And also keep in mind that these were all adults with DS, the new generation will go much further, only the sky is the limit.


Grab This Button

2 Responses

  1. Du skriver så otroligt bra………………………………………………………… ……”Or where I explain how extraordinary he is?
    But I will not. Not because he is not, because both my kids are awesomly awesome and extra cool. That has nothing to do with the number of chromosomes, they are cool and perfect to me because they are mine.”
    Fantastiskt fint-Annahugs

  2. Just vad jag behövde höra idag. Båda två är bara ungar och jag är bara mamma, som alla andra.

Leave a Reply

