Get It Down: 31 for 21 – Day 30

I got to work about 15 min before opening today. Rolled up the big irongate thingie in front of the entrance, walked in to the store and turned the lights on. Then I had a heart attack. Screamed and ran out.
A rat/mouse thing just ran across the room, a few inches from my feet. Mind, I sell shoes, childrens shoes, and the only thing to eat in all of my store is what is in the refrigerator (one beer, a bottle of ketchup and a frozen pizza… healthy I know – and the beer has been there since Bookie and the guys were building).

Next to my store is a pet store. Pretty smart as all the kids loves to go there and watch all types of animals. Then the parents come into my store.
However, the pets should be in the pet store. I like dogs. And cats. Fish are OK. Critters and reptiles no. To me the only good reptile is a dead reptile. Critters are pretty much in the same popularity box.

Luckily, the manager of the pet store was already in the store, and she came to catch my rat/mouse thing. She took one look at it and told me it was a hamster. Same thing. It still looked mean, all white with redish eyes (hung over?) Apparently, she knows how to do those tings, as the thing was caught in less then 2 min and carried away in a shoe box to continue life on the other side the wall. I am very relieved. I so hope Vince just wants fish or something when he grows up…

UPDATE: The hamster did NOT come from the pet store next door – all theirs were inside already. So where the heck did it come from? Do hamsters live free in Austria??? Seriously doubt that…

4 Responses

  1. Håller helt med dig! Såna djur är läskiga. Jag tycker Vince ska få en häst. De är bra djur.

  2. Röstar också på häst. Elsa ska få en under våren, en shettis. Kanske mest för att mamma vill men men det gäller att utnyttja sin asmå ibland…
    Undrar dock om hennes djurintresse är så stort eftersom hon totalignorerar hunden hemma. Förstår din känsla med hamstern, hemska djur.

  3. When I was younger I had a friend who kept a hamster. He called it Houdini as it was always escaping.

  4. Minns vad Carrie i SATC sa om ekorrar, att de bara var råttor i cuter outits. Klokt. Skrattar dock lite åt att du inte såg skillnad på mus och hamster. Vi hade hamstrar när jag var liten. Pricken och Stina. Stina bytte sedemera namn till Rasmus efter att Marcus försökt para dom.. Puss

Leave a Reply

