The 2nd Annual 31 for 21 Challenge

 Get It Down; 31 for 21

Did you know that October is Down Syndrome Awareness month? No? Well it is! Tricia from Unringing the Bellstarted this great challenge last year, and she is back hosting the second challenge this year! Basically, all you have to do is try to blog every day during the month of October. The text below is straight fr her blog:

The Not-Rules:
The rules are, there are no rules & anyone can participate.

Who can do it?
Weren’t you listening? Anyone who is interested!  You are all welcome to join the challenge!

When do I do it?
The goal is to blog everyday for the month of October. 31 days to raise awareness of Down syndrome (a.k.a. Trisomy 21). Get it? 31 for 21!

What do I write about?
Anything your heart desires. I don’t like to put restrictions on ya’ll. I just like to read what you have to say. Last year people made up “challenges” and gave out ideas for topics. I thought that was a lot of fun! If you have ideas feel free to comment here and I will try and spread the word. Pictures are good too!

Why should I do it?
This is the one question I can be unambiguous about. I propose you do it in honor of Down Syndrome Awareness Month. One thing I can say certainly, is that writing–blogging specifically–has helped me in numerous ways as the mother of a child with Down syndrome. I value the people I have met, the friends I have made, and the information I have gathered on blogs. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if new parents googled Down syndrome and our blogs came up? What a welcome wagon that would be!

But that doesn’t mean you HAVE to write about Down syndrome. I think it’s beneficial for folks to read about people who are affected by Down syndrome and see that our lives are just the same as anyone else’s!

I propose whether or not you personally know someone affected by DS that you do it in honor of those living with DS as a part of their lives; to raise awareness of Down syndrome. (And, well, it WOULD be nice if you mentioned that’s why you’re doing it in at least ONE of your blog entries.)

What’s in it for me?
Fame. Fortune. And the knowledge that not only did you write for a WHOLE month, you are raising Down Syndrome Awareness!

How do I know who else is doing it?
If you ARE going to take part in 31 for 21 then let me know. And spread the word! Please tell people to let me know they are participating so I can keep a running tally of links which I will post in my sidebar. That way we can all visit one another’s blogs.

So why not? What’s to lose? There’s no winning. No losing. Just getting it down to raise awareness of Down syndrome.

Do you want to Get It Down? If so, join us for the 31 for 21 Challenge!

2 Responses

  1. […] saknar mitt skrivande som varit vilande. Läste på Prince Vince om Get it down – 31 for 21. Det vore en utmaning! Jag kanske tar […]

  2. Länge har jag tänkt börja blogga om livet som mamma till Snorpan med DS och Spiggen utan… Det är snart oktober och via Masarinmamman hittade jag din utmaning – Jag ska börja blogga nu! Och i oktober ska jag göra det varje dag! Så har jag fått det sagt och skaffat en liten piska åt mig själv:-) /Mamma L

Leave a Reply

