Books

I read a lot of books. And I like to keep all of my books. Bookie also reads a lot, Vince so-so. But there are a lot of books at our place. I buy books in English or Swedish, I am not so good at reading German (I get lost real easily). So when in Swedish or on Amazon I usually buy/order a big pile to last me a few months.
I just finished The Golden Notebook and The Cleft by Doris Lessing (both were great and worth reading) she is definitely a way worthier winner of the Noble Prize in Literature than Jelinek (that Piano Teacher book is still haunting me).
Last night it was time to start a new book. There were only two left. Both I want to read, but for some reason they were left to the last two books. The one I chose to read now is The Kite Runner, after 4 chapters I am hooked. The one that has to wait, which I am not ready for yet is The Memory Keeprs Daughter. I know, I know, most of you will bang your heads in the wall, but I am not sure I can handle that one yet… Books are runnig short over here in Austria though, so soon I will have no excuse but to read it…

7 Responses

  1. Jag har läst The Memory Keepers Daughter. Jag var faktiskt lite besviken. Den handlade inte om DS så mycket som jag trodde/hade önskat. Det är en bra bok, men jag förväntade mig något annat. Den betyder ju säkert något helst annat för dig än för mig, men som sagt den handlade inte så väldigt mycket om DS som jag trodde.

  2. Oh, how I love you and Prince Vince! My sweet nephew, who is just now three months old, was diagnosed with Ds at birth. Since then, there’s been so much to learn and reading your blog has been a big part of that.
    It was overwhelming at first to see that Vince was just a boy, a sweet toddler who is active and loves to climb and spin and every other thing that you would expect of someone his age. I know that there are challenges, of course, but getting to know him – and you – through this blog has done so much to change the misconceptions that I’d had about Ds. So thank you.

    With all my best wishes for a wonderful summer,
    Shauna, a reader in Brooklyn, NY

  3. Kiterunner är årets klart överskattade bok enligt mig, “alla” mina vänenr älskar den, me jag förstod inte vad det fantastikska var med den? Miljöbeskrivningarna var bra men storyn tunn, har inte betämt mig än om jag ska läsa hans andra som utkommit på pocket nyligen. Ska tilläggas att jag läser under “högsäsong” två pockets i veckan, men nu när det är mycket jobb blir det mindre….så jag måste också utnämna mig själv som bokslukare. Om du inte läst “Påven Johanna”( Woolfolk Cross, Donna) så kan jag varmt rekomendera den, även om den har ett par år på nacken 😉

  4. I had to make myself read Memory Keeper’s Daughter. It was okay. Just okay. I know a lot of people loved it, but it was hard for me.

    Kite Runner is on my list of things to read. Do you have a goodreads.com account? Totally addictive. I’ve been getting lots of good recommendations for books there.

  5. Med risk att utveckla en diskussion – Kite Runner är ju en av de bästa böckerna som skrivits enligt mig! Du kommer älska den, Kicki! Den är helt klart värd din totala uppmärksamhet. Själv slappar jag mig igenom sommaren med deckare…och en snuskroman jag fått av Alexandra. 🙂

  6. Idha jag håller helt med! Fantastisk bok! Filmen också helt ok men kan inte mäta sig med boken. Toklängtar till jag läst ut min nuvarande så jag kan köpa hans nya pocket.

  7. Japps, The Kite Runner är kanon. Men inget slår en härlig tantsnuskbok a la Jackie Collins… ;0) För tillfället läser jag Snablar av A Paasilinna (hur fanken stavar man hans namn då?). Helt ok om man gillar skrönor. För lite tantsnusk dock- haha!

Leave a Reply

