Get It Down 31 for 21: Post 33

We have a MAJOR dilemma. We have been having a signing coach that comes to us once a week. She is from the same company as Vince gets EI from. It is free of charge as it is considered part of the EI program. The coach we have is Nicolette Blok, one of the best in Austria. She also travels around in GUK using countries (the signs we have been using) and does speeches etc. She is one smart cookie. Now, the EI-jacka** company decided not to support her there any more, so she is going private, and we would have to pay for the services from now on. Not such a big biggie. But a little inconvenient. As I said, she is THE best and we are very satisfied with her. However, GUK – the German signs we are using are simply not very helpful. Or the signs are, but the material around it really sucks…. In Sweden there is Teckenhatten which has signs, books, CDs, DVDs etc. In the US there is Signing Times which offers an amazing selection of help with signs, like DVDs, CDs,cards etc. In GUK there are only cards. No DVDs or such. Bookie and I took a course in GUK and we learned some. But it is hard to get it incorporated into everyday use. Vince is starting to do some signs, Light and maybe dog – that may just have been a coincidence…

From what I have noticed and also talked to the Swedish Down Syndrome Organization about 2/3 of the signs are the same in the Swedish sign language and GUK. As for American Sign Language (ASL) which I believe is used in Signing Times, I don’t know how much similarities there are. I am assuming some as the signs are used to help communication, not some cryptic encoding.

As for the languages (spoken) differences I am not worried. I know Vince understands English, Swedish and German. So, we are seriously considering switching signing language all together from GUK to ASL/Signing Times. Our coach thought it would be no problem, cause we have not yet gotten so far. An issue might be in Kindergarten, where GUK may be known, and it may not be so popular if we are on an other language. But from our experiences so far, the people don’t know GUK either and need to learn that as well. So we are leaning towards Signing Times…. Anyone advice? Are we insane (more than usual that is)? How much are Signing Times helping you in signing, I know the kids love it, but is it also helping you parents out there????

11 Responses

  1. I’d go with Signing Times. d loves it – she claps and dances, and watches closely. I bet Vince would love it.

    Oh, and the 40 clove chicken? You can just put it in the crockpot. Your house will smell so good while it is cooking!

  2. We use Baby signing times. My son I. is 16 mos. old and has about 10 signs. He doesn’t use them to communicate yet, but he will do the sign if you ask him to sign it. His typical twin W. has about 30 signs and does use them to communicate some. They learned it all from Baby signing times DVDs which they watch about every day with rapt attention. I’ve learned all the signs as well just from watching the dvd. There are also websites with short videos of each sign in ASL which I use to learn new signs that are not in the Baby Signing Times DVDs.

  3. My son Noah is 20 months old w/ T21 he has 30 signs and has learned that vast majority of them from Baby Einstein. He would start signing things and getting frustrated with us so we would have to sit down and watch the whole video until we learned the sign. I’ve heard good things about Signing Time and plan to get some for Christmas.

  4. We have the Sigining Times series and the signing Baby Einstein dvds. You learn a lot more of a complete vocabulary with ST, but either one is easy to watch and learn from.

    If you have to teaach his other care providers what signs he uses, I don’t think it matters what language they originate from. His over caregivers might even be interested in watching them with him. Both combine the sign, word (spoken and written) with images (real and illustrated.)

  5. We have signing times. It was suggested to us at a NDSA meeting. It seems to really help. W is only 6 months but my wife is really trying to teach her. My son Z knows most words on the videos.

  6. I can’t say enough about Signing Times. My kids love them. I’ve learned a lot. They’re easy to follow; the signs are explained well, there are lots of cute kids and music too. We haven’t been really hardcore about signing with the boys, but do it on occasion. Evan knows 3 or 4 signs, and Eli knows tons. We have the regular version, not the baby version, volumes 1, 2 and 3. And I’ve just ordered the next set for Christmas.

  7. Christina, I would use whatever is easiest to learn as a family. 90% of your communication with him is going to be inter-family. You will want to keep Vince’s teacher in the loop for new signs he is familiar with. As Vince learns language, he will drop away from using the signs. So don’t look at it as a life-long, societal skill. You and Bookie are the ones who communicate with him. You know what he needs to be expressing, find a system that works best for you on a personal level. Learning together is a lot of fun and is filled with surprises at how many Vince will be able to retain and use. I found “Signing Times” very easy to use. I learned all the signs within 2 viewings. Once you know the signs and use them everyday you don’t forget them, you wouldn’t need to refer back to cards or books. Loaning a Signing Times CD to the pre-school will get the teachers quickly up to speed and who knows, the other kids in the class may learn right along with Vince!

  8. Oh, by the way..it’s me Kelly, mom to Will. I was checking out WordPress blogs. So far I find them a little confusing to navigate, but I guess it takes time to learn new things. 😉

  9. I would agree with Kelly, go with what you are most comfortable with [I love Signing Times] as Vincent will drop the signs as his expressive language gets stronger.

  10. I have found Signing Times to be GREAT! Our family and friends have borrowed them and we can hold a conversation…Miss T has a few signs but right now she is just loving the songs…we sing them to her a lot and she is really recognizing them. She is learning to respond to them… I highly recommend them…but like another has said…you have to see what will work for your family.. 🙂

    peace be with you
    Kim and Miss T

  11. In Signing Time the signs are all ASL (American Sign Language) Since my daughter Leah is deaf, it was and IS important to me that Signing Time is ASL – not made up signs or coded language.

    I love seeing all these great reviews of Signing Time here and am so happy so many families are finding success with us!

Leave a Reply

