Get It Down 31 for 21: Post 8

Something really cool happened yesterday. I was in the store and this woman comes in and says:

How is your baby doing?

In English. See I only speak English here with people I know from a project I worked on in 2003, or if it someone I worked with in the US (I worked for an Austrian/Canadian company). I knew I did not work with her. I had no clue who she was. She could obviously see it, and said:

 I met you the hospital when you were there with your boy.

And then the penny dropped. This was a person I was hoping to meet again, a stranger who probably never knew how much she helped us or how she within 24 hours of the initial shock of the suspected DS diagnosis, flipped things around from something really bad, to something not so bad. I had asked some Drs about her later, but no one knew who I meant. So the story goes: on day 4 after Vince was born and approx 24 hrs after the ‘abnormal news’ I was sitting at the neonatal part of the University Hospital in Graz (LKH Graz). We had been transported there in ambulance and had a day filled with appointments to check Vincent’s health. Blood drawn, heart ultrasound and EKG, kidneys lungs etc. Most of you know the drill. First up was the blood test and I was sitting there waiting alone. Bookie had gone downstairs to fill in the HUGE stack of papers required to be filled in if you are doing a chromosome blood test. I remember that I cried and cried and cried. The place is very scare if you have just been told your kid is most likely ‘different’ and you are not sure what that entitles. There were tiny wheel chairs, breathing machines, babies with little alarms etc etc. There was another person waiting too, finally she asked me in English (she had probably heard Bookie and I talk English) why I was there. I stuttered that the Dr thought Vince had DS. She then said:

If that was all my boy had I would be so happy!

She did not say it in a snotty way at all, just as a matter a fact. She told me her little boy who was now 6 months in the world, but born in week 26, weighing in at approx 500 g (1.1 pound) had had repetive stomach surgeries, was born without any hearning, could hardly see at all, and who they did not know at all if he would survive or what kind of life he would have. So DS is not so bad she said again. She also told me about some people she knew who had kids with DS and how great they were, that they were walking and talking and just being normal kids! I was amazed! Then I got called in for our appointment and when I came back she was gone and we did not have time to stay around as we were being rushed down to the heart clinic to check Vincent’s heart.

I have thought back on what she said numerous times when the diagnosis was hurting or making me sad. It really did put things in perspective for both Bookie and I, and we were never even able to tell her Thanks. But now we have exchanged phone numbers and we will get together for brunch one day. She had her little guy with her who was doing amazingly well! He does see with the help of glasses and he can hear with the help of hearing aids. But no wheel chair or so! Just one more kid who is there to make a difference.

11 Responses

  1. härligt gumman. hade du inte träffat henne igen hade man kunnat tro att hon var en sån där skyddsängel som visade sig när du behövde henne som mest! ännu bättre att hon fanns i verkligen livet!!! puss.

  2. WOW, I am teary eyed after that one. How amazing that you ran in to her after thinking about her so often. Seems like she was your guardian angel.

  3. Jag kommer ihåg henne. Eller, jag kommer ihåg att du berättat om henne och sagt att du vill träffa henne igen. Coolt. Puss

  4. That is really cool. I’m glad your paths crossed again. And I’m glad her boy is doing okay!

  5. Now that is a beautiful story. I got goosebumps! Congratulations on the reconnection! 🙂

  6. I love stories like that! I have a few people I hope I’ll run into again, but so far, no luck. Maybe someday! Life is long!

  7. What a cool story! I’m so happy you were able to see her again.

  8. What perfect fate!

  9. Schöne Begegnung, mir steigen die Tränen in die Augen.

  10. That was a beautiful story! It proves that each of us are here to make a difference in each others lives….regardless of our chromosonal make-up. I can’t wait to hear about your brunch. 🙂

  11. That is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

