The Employee Interview

A while back I interviewed a girl with a little something extra for a position in my store. She is into fashion, likes make up, gardening, cineman and music. She is currently working at a botanical garden in the area, but it is only a temporary position. She is 18 and quite an entertainer.

We met at our place, as the store is still in the works. I told her about the background of the store, us, and what her job would include. I then asked her if it was something she could consider doing. She answered, very honestly, ‘Thanks, but no Thanks. I am not that into kids shoes’. She then explained that she preferred working with plants and in gardens…. Hmmm, where do I go from here, I thought to myself. This girl possesses the self esteem of a rock star, and I was getting more and more nervous.

I proceeded to tell her that unfortunately there would be no garden, but how about if she helped me with the internet orders and preparing them? She did like that idea, and after agreeing to think it over one more time, we decided to get together again in early July. So I will call her this week and ask if she thinks it is soemthing she would like to try out. Hopefully she will 🙂

Note to everyone: did you know that in many places (Sweden and Austria at least) the state/government pays the salaries if you employ people with special needs? This is a great way to get start up help if you are starting your own business. In many cases you also get incentives for hiring people with special needs. Think it over, it is a win-win situation for everyone!

6 Responses

  1. Hopefully she will! She has great self-confidence…awesome!

    🙂

  2. How wonderful that your country supports the employment of people with SNs, rather than just paying them to stay home, out of sight. Our government does not give such incentives, but luckily I live in a progressive area (Seattle, WA, USA) where employers make the extra effort to employ those with SNs. I often see people with various SNs working at my local grocery store and wharehouse store. My favorite checker at Costco is deaf and relies entirely on lip-reading, and yet she provides better customer service than most fully-able people.

    As for your prospect for the shoe store, if she doesn’t chose to work in kid’s shoes, don’t take it personally. Just because she’s got something extra doesn’t make her perfect for the job, or in need of work with you. She seems to have already found something she’s passionate about, and that should be celebrated!

    You might want to consider a mother of a SN child, someone with extra patience working with children and who has personal experience fitting shoes on her own child who might not have average feet. When I worked in children’s retail I noticed customers naturally gravitated to the older saleslady, the one who was a grandma.

    Another reason to think about hiring a mom of a SN kid: she’s probably been at home with her child for awhile and now that she/he’s in school she has some free time, but needs flexible hours and an understanding boss. Being out of the workforce for awhile, she might have a hard time going back to whatever she did before.

    I don’t know if you feel comfortable supervising someone possibly older than yourself, but it is something to think about.

    Best wishes,
    Heather

  3. She sounds quite like a personality – would love to meet and photograph 🙂 her!

  4. Oh – I love her personality and that she is so confident!

  5. That’s awesome! Keep us updated!

  6. I WISH I had that much self-esteem! She sounds awesome–like the type of employee you’d want!

Leave a Reply

